Gritty

If you’re ever in the South you’ll no doubt find yourself faced with the choice of a porridge looking mess they call grits.  It’s corn kernels mashed with a bit of butter and some salt if you’re feeling frisky.  It’s a simple meal that is both comforting and delightful.  In this way it reminds me so much of the people I’ve met along the road in the south.  A simplicity that underlies a comfort and truly delightful nature.

Leaving Fort Benning I weaved my way through Columbus trusting that the GPS and google would indeed take me where I wanted to go.    I couldn’t begin to break down each road or route I ended up on.  I’ve found that the benefit of having the GPS where you can see it is that often a simple route suggestion can lead you down fun and strange places.

20170423_110039

I made my way along 80 towards Junction City.   Somewhere near Junction City I wandered into a little café as has been my tradition on these adventures.  I was not disappointed either.   Walls and the staff were covered in various shades and patterns of camouflage and my presence was greeted with a “sit wherever you’d like darlin”.   I asked the waitress what she’d suggest and the biscuits and gravy with a side of fried green tomatoes were un-freaking believably delicious.   During the hour and a half I sat there, I was the only person not a regular.   These are my kind of diners.

While waiting, an older gentleman came in and asked me about the motorcycle.   We got chatting about bikes and the adventures he had “back in the day”.   As we spoke he invited me to sit with him and I was glad to do so.   Lonnie progressed quickly to his days as “a black man driving an old truck in some crazy old places down south”.  He spoke with sincerity how he believed what kept him safe was that he was just kind to people “even when they ain’t”.   He shared about his time in the service and how it lead him to believe in kindness.  He shared about losing his wife a few years ago and finding someone crazy enough to put up with him.   Story after story that showed that the kindness in his heart.   He had nearly died a few years back and lost over half his weight.  He shared simply “I guess God isn’t done with me”.   As I was leaving he told me he was hoping we’d see each other again “in this life, or the other side of things”.   I sincerely look forward to it.

To get to Musella from Junction City I set my GPS to avoid highways and headed down little backroad after little backroad.   At one point a bridge was being repaired so rather than going back the way I came I figured a dirt road or two would be in good order.   I was not disappointed to be off the tarmac for a while and enjoyed cruising along in the thick red clay of these roads.  Twisting through fields I eventually was dumped back on the road about 30 minutes later.

 

I’m not even go to try and figure out where I ended up at this point before eventually giving up at an old hippy camp outside of Helen, GA.   Really, if you want to do the route, just start in Columbus and head towards Helen.  Make sure to “avoid highways” per google and basically take every route it tells you will be “X” minutes longer.  This way you’ll have an excuse for yourself to keep it slow and enjoy the journey.

With about two hours more to go I decided to gas up.  When I mentioned I was heading towards Tennessee the attended simply told me that I better like getting wet.   I had watched the weather report and knew full well that she may be right.   Well, 15 minutes later I was in the rain.    I thought a lot about what Marti had said back in Texas about staying dry and where to find shelter in the storm.  Although tonight I write this in the comfort of a camper I can tell you right now that it was thinking of him that kept my spirits high.    Riding in the rain isn’t all that fun but it is very pretty to see the rolling hills of Northern Georgia even if you’re having to wipe your goggles every few minutes.

Sitting at this memorial I thought of the gritty people I’ve met along this journey.   Some who’ve seen friends lost in war and watched lives unravel in front of them.    I think Lonnie is right.  Maybe all someone needs is a little kindness.

Leave a comment